Task Force for Consolidation of Springfield Schools Adopts Mission Statement, Core Values, and Considers Institutional Structure and Governance*

During its April meeting, the Task Force for the consolidation of the three resident Springfield schools (AG Theological Seminary, Central Bible College and Evangel University) made significant progress by unanimously adopting the mission statement and core values for the new institution. “All other considerations of the Task Force will be based on this foundation,” states General Superintendent George O. Wood who chairs the Task Force.

The adopted mission statement says: “Evangel University is a comprehensive Pentecostal educational institution fully committed to the authority of Scripture and to shaping Spirit-empowered servant-leaders spiritually, emotionally, culturally and intellectually for impact in the global church and society.”

The subcommittee on Institutional Structure offered its recommendations, following the meeting of focus groups  comprised of school faculties and administrators. The Task Force approved the recommendations that the new university have five schools: Arts and Sciences, Behavioral Sciences and Education, Business and Communication, Fine Arts, and Theology and Church Ministry. Each of these schools would contain a number of departments.

The group spent considerable time discussing the place of ministerial preparation as a priority for the university. Noting that one of the major reasons for proposing consolidation was to strengthen and enhance ministerial training, Wood reminded the group the Assemblies of God is planning and working for a net growth of 4,000 churches over the next 10 years,  requiring the training of an unprecedented number of young people, called of God to lead and staff these churches as well as serve in lay leadership in these congregations.

The subcommittee then offered proposed structures for administrative Operations. The Task Force asked that this be taken to focus groups of staff and administrators, with a report back to its May meeting.

The Governance subcommittee reported its recommendations that cover the formation of a Board of Trustees for the new school, and the process for selecting presidential and administrative leadership who will in turn lead the faculties through the process of consolidation. Their recommendations will assist the Bylaws subcommittee in shaping the rules that will govern the university through four authority structures: The General Council of the Assemblies of God, the Board of Trustees, the Office of the President, and the faculty. The Bylaws subcommittee will report to the May meeting of the Task Force.

The governance and structure will provide the basic   framework for the narrative which is to be submitted to the Boards of Directors of the three institutions for consideration at their meetings scheduled for June 8, and then to the Executive Presbytery in its June 9 and 10 meeting.

The work of the Task Force will culminate in presenting a resolution on consolidation to the 54th General Council of the Assemblies of God in August in Phoenix, Arizona.


* From a broadcast email sent to employees of the Assemblies of God General Council.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s